PECO Net Announcements

A few of the announcements that came out of last week’s PECO Net meeting:

Nominations for Environmental Education Community of Interest steering committee are due November 25th. Contact Carrie Hernandez (chernandez@healthybay.org) with nominations. Committee members receive $1000/year stipends.

Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium is developing a new environmental learning center on site, involving the Science and Math Institute. It will feature classroom and lab spaces. PDZA is also building a new aquarium, with the theme of sharing the ocean. They will promote stormwater and stewardship messaging, and are seeking input from partners on that messaging. Contact Amy Hale (amy.hale@pdza.org) for more information on this opportunity.

In 2016, the City of Tacoma is celebrating the 10 year anniversary of the Foss Waterway cleanup effort. They are looking to partner in existing/planned community events to spread this message. Contact Shauna Hansen (shansen2@cityoftacoma.org) for more information.

Harbor WildWatch are beginning their salmon tours on November 21st at Donkey Creek in Gig Harbor. They are also organizing a speaker series at Gig Harbor area bars and restaurants. Contact Lindsey Johnson (lindsey@harborwildwatch.org) for more information.

University of Puget Sound is housing an exhibit on soils at the Collins Library through December 4th.

Don’t Drip and Drive was funded for the 3rd phase of the campaign. A fall 2016 rollout is expected, and there will be solicitation for community partners to help promote the effort.

The Puget Sound Starts Here committee is taking on more of a leadership role after PSP has scaled back their contribution to the campaign. You can post events to the Puget Sound Starts Here website and the Facebook page as well. Contact Tiffany O’Dell (todell@co.pierce.wa.us) for more information.

The Children’s Water Festival is scheduled for March 15th, 2016 at the University of Puget Sound. This year the teachers have the opportunity to become Project WET certified. If interested in hosting a station or volunteering, contact Chris Towe (christophert@piercecountycd.org.)

Dave Ketter of Pacific Education Institute advertised training opportunities for the Drain Ranger curriculum and Next Generation Science Standards. Contact Dave if interested (dketter@pacificeducationinstitute.org).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply